Skip to content

MSHA's Coal Mining Districts
Coal District 2 Coal District 3 Coal District 4 Coal District 5 Coal District 6 Coal District 7 Coal District 8 Coal District 9 Coal District 10 Coal District 11 Coal District 12
Immediately Reportable Accidents
    All mine operators are required to immediately call MSHA's toll free number at 1-800-746-1553 to report an immediately reportable accident or emergency to MSHA. Mine operators must call immediately when an accident has occurred or has been determined to have occurred, but no later than 15 minutes from the time of the occurrence or determination of the occurrence.
Hazardous Condition Complaint
    To report a hazardous condition at a mine you may call your District Office, the MSHA hotline number
    1-800-746-1553, or submit your complaint online. Additional information can be obtained using this link.

Address and Telephone Information  Maps to District and Field Offices

Text Version of Districts Map Above

District 2Bituminous coal mining regions in Pennsylvania
District 3Maryland, Ohio, and Northern West Virginia
District 4 Southern West Virginia to include the following counties - Boone, Braxton, Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Kanawha, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Putnam, Raleigh, Summers, Webster
District 5Virginia
District 6Eastern Kentucky
District 7Central Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee
District 8Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Northern Missouri and Wisconsin
District 9All States west of the Mississippi River, except for Minnesota, Iowa, and Northern Missouri
District 10Western Kentucky
District 11Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Mississippi, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands
District 12 Southern West Virginia to include the following counties - Cabell, Lincoln, Logan, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Wayne, Wyoming