Skip to content
Metal/Nonmetal
District Home Pages
Southeastern District

Birmingham, AL
1030 London Drive, Suite 400
Birmingham, AL 35209

Contacts Telephone Fax Number E-Mail Address
Samuel Pierce,
District Manager
(205) 290-7296,
ext. 223
(205) 290-7299 Pierce.Samuel@dol.gov
Doniece L. Schlick,
Assistant District Manager
(205) 290-7296,
ext. 223
(205) 290-7299 Schlick.Doniece@dol.gov
Brian Thompson
Assistant District Manager
205) 290-7296,
ext. 223
(205) 290-7299 Thompson.Brian@dol.gov
Judith Etterer
Staff Assistant
(205) 290-7296 (205) 290-7299 Etterer.Judith@dol.gov
Michael Giddens
Supervisory Management/Program Analyst
(205) 290-7296,
ext. 226
(205) 290-7299 Giddens.Michael@dol.gov
Kevin K. LeGrand
Supervisory Special Investigator
(205) 290-7296,
ext. 282
(205) 290-7299 LeGrand.Kevin@dol.gov
Melody S. Wesson,
Conference Litigation Representative
(205) 290-7296,
ext. 228
(205) 290-7299 Wesson.Melody@dol.gov
Robert Hendrix,
Conference Litigation Representative
(205) 290-7296,
ext. 281
(205) 290-7299 Hendrix.Robert@dol.gov
James R. Shaffer,
Conference Litigation Representative
(205) 290-7296,
ext. 236
(205) 290-7299 Shaffer.James@dol.gov
Anthony L. Burke,
Conference Litigation Representative
(863) 533-5390 (863) 533-1464 Burke.Anthony@dol.gov
Patrick S. Sharp,
Health Specialist
(205) 290-7296,
ext. 227
(205) 290-7299 Sharp.Patrick@dol.gov
Michael A. Evans,
Safety Specialist
(205) 290-7296,
ext. 225
(205) 290-7299 Evans.Michael@dol.gov

Complete Organizational Chart - File is PDF
Maps and Directions to...

Immediately Reportable Accidents

All mine operators are required to immediately call MSHA�s toll free number at 1-800-746-1553 to report an immediately reportable accident or emergency to MSHA. Mine operators must call immediately when an accident has occurred or has been determined to have occurred, but no later than 15 minutes from the time of the occurrence or determination of the occurrence.
Hazardous Condition Complaint

To report a hazardous condition at a mine you may call your District Office, the MSHA hotline number
1-800-746-1553 , or submit your complaint online. Additional information can be obtained using this link .


More Information
Field Office Information for this District All Metal Nonmetal Districts


Southeast District Accidents
This information is about serious accidents and "Near Misses" that have occurred in the Southeast District. These accidents did not result in a fatality.

Date Type of Accident  
February 2011 MSHA Technical Support - Report of Surge Bin Tower Collapse


Quick Links
   Accident Prevention    Compliance Information
   Data Retrieval System    Education and Training
   Equipment Hazard Alerts    Forms and Online Filings
   Health Hazard Alerts    Illness Prevention
   Mailing List Subscription    Mine Rescue
  MNM Resource Page   Safety Hazard Alerts
  Safety Hazard Pocket Cards   Statistics
  What's New