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Contact information regarding these laws: 
The Legislative Reference Center 
910 Capitol Street 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor 
Richmond, VA  23219 
Ph:   (804) 786-3591 
Fax:  (804) 371-0169 or (804) 692-0625 
website:  http://dls.state.va.us/lrc.htm 
 
 
1. Unemployment Compensation 
 
VIRGINIA Unemployment Compensation State law provides that an individual shall not 
qualify for benefits during any week that he or she, in connection with an offer of suitable 
work, tests positive for a nonprescribed controlled substance if the test is required as a 
condition of employment and is performed in accordance with scientifically recognized 
standards by a laboratory accredited by the United States Department of Health and 
Human Services, or the College of American Pathology, or the American Association for 
Clinical Chemistry, or the equivalent.  Code of Virginia §60.2-618 (3)(d)(1999). An 
employee is disqualified from eligibility for benefits if he or she is discharged for a 
confirmed positive drug test for a nonprescribed controlled substance. The test must be 
performed at the direction of his or her employer in conjunction with the employer's 
administration and enforcement of a known workplace drug policy and at a laboratory 
accredited by the United States Department of Health and Human Services, or the 
College of American Pathology, or the American Association for Clinical Chemistry, or 
the equivalent.  Code of Virginia §60.2-618 (2)(b)(1999). 
 
 
2. Workers’ Compensation 
 
VIRGINIA Workers' Compensation denies benefits to an employee whose injury is 
caused by intoxication or use of nonprescribed controlled substances. Code of Virginia 
§65.2-306 (A)(3)(6)(2002).  A positive drug test from an HHS certified laboratory or a 
positive alcohol test above .08 bac creates a rebuttable presumption the employee was 
intoxicated or using drugs at the time of injury.  Code of Virginia §65.2-306 (B)(2002). 
 
 
 
 



3.  Virginia Workers’ Compensation Premium Reduction Program 
 
VIRGINIA Workers' Compensation Premium Reduction Program provides a 5 percent 
premium discount for employers who institute and maintain a drug free workplace 
program that meets the criteria established by the insurer. Code of  Virginia §65.2-813.2 
(2001). 
 
Contact Information:  
The Commonwealth of Virginia  
State Corporation Commission  
Bureau of Insurance 
P.O. Box 1157 
Richmond, VA  23218 
Ph:   (804) 371-9185 or (877) 310-6560 
E-Mail:  bureauofinsurance@scc.state.va.us 
Website: 
http://www.state.va.us/scc/division/boi/webpages/inspagedocs/drugfreeworkplace.pdf 
 
To apply for this discount, contact the insurance carrier directly.  A listing of insurance 
companies licensed in the Commonwealth of Virginia is available online at 
http://www.state.va.us/scc/division/boi/webpages/boiinsurancecotypescoregulates.htm. 
  
 
4. Drug-Free Workplace Requirements 
 
VIRGINIA Drug-free Workplace Act requires all public bodies to include in every 
contract over $10,000 the following provisions: 1) the contractor must provide a drug-
free workplace for the contractor's employees; 2) s/he must post a statement notifying 
employees that the unlawful manufacture, sale, distribution, dispensation, possession, or 
use of a controlled substance or marijuana is prohibited in the contractor's workplace and 
specifying the consequences for policy violations; 3) s/he must state in all solicitations or 
advertisements for employees that the contractor maintains a drug-free workplace, and 4) 
s/he must include the drug-free workplace clauses from this Act in every subcontract or 
purchase order over $10,000 so that the provisions are binding on the subcontractor or 
vendor. Code of Virginia  §2.2-4312 (2001). 
 
 
5. Medical Examination Costs  

Virginia law states that it is unlawful for any employer to require any employee or 
applicant for employment to pay the cost of a medical examination or the cost of 
furnishing any medical records required by the employer as a condition of employment.  
Code of Virginia  §40.1-28 (1982).  

 


