Skip to content

Listed are the states participating in the MSHA grants program with links to each state program Summary. Also program officials and contact persons are listed with phone numbers and e-mail addresses.

ALABAMA
Mr. Ken Russell
Director of Mine Training
Bevill State Community College
101 State Street, Box 800
Sumiton, AL 35148
Telephone: (205) 648-3271 (Ext. 5225)
Email: KRussell@bscc.edu

ALASKA
Mr. William Beiber
Director, Mining and Petroleum Training Services
University of Alaska - Anchorage
162 College Road
Soldotna, AK 99669
Telephone: (907) 262-2788
Email: whbeiber01@alaska.edu
Additional Contact:  Elizabeth Hardy
Email: eahardie@alaska.edu

ARIZONA
Ms. Laurie Swartzbaugh 
Deputy Director
Arizona State Mine Inspector's Office
1700 West Washington, Suite 403
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2805
Telephone: (602) 542-5971
Email: lswartzbaugh@asmi.az.gov
Additional Contact:  Joe Hart
Email: jhart@asmi.az.gov

ARKANSAS
Ms. Susan Weaver
Education & Instruction Coordinator
Arkansas Department of Labor
10421 West Markham
Little Rock, AR 72205
Telephone: (501) 682-4520
Email: Susan.G.Weaver@arkansas.gov

CALIFORNIA
Mr. Steve Hart
Senior Engineer
California Department of Industrial Relations
1367 East Lassen Avenue, Suite B-4
Chico, CA 95973
Telephone: (909) 888-3942
Email: SHart@DIR.CA.GOV

COLORADO
Mr. Bill York-Feirn, CMSP
Supervisor, Mine Safety and Training
Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety
CO Dept. of Natural Resources
1313 Sherman Street, Room 215
Denver, CO 80203
Telephone: (303) 866-3567 ext. 8151
Email: bill.york-feirn@state.co.us

CONNECTICUT
Dr. Jacob Kovel
Chair
Department of Manufacturing and Construction Management
Central Connecticut State University
1615 Stanley Street
P.O. Box 4010
New Britain, CT 06050
Telephone: (860) 832-0192
Email: KovelJ@ccsu.edu

Dr. Stuart Bennett
MSHA Training Instructor for the
Department of Manufacturing and Construction Management
Central Connecticut State University
1615 Stanley Street
New Britain, CT 06050
Telephone: (860) 832-1835
Email: BennettS@ccsu.edu

DELAWARE
Mr. Joseph P. Flick
Mine Training Program
The Pennsylvania State University
213 Research West Building
University Park, PA 16802
Telephone: (204) 865-7474
Email: jpf1@psu.edu

FLORIDA
Ms. Karen M. Miller, CMSP
Program Specialist
Florida Mine Safety & Health Training Program
Tallahassee Community College
Florida Public safety Institute
75 College Drive, Suite 140
Havana, FL 32333
Telephone: (850) 201-7009 or (850) 201-7689
Email: MillerKa@tcc.fl.edu

GEORGIA
Mr. Gary Haynes
Coordinator
Oconee Fall Line Technical College
1189 Deepstep Road
Sandersville, GA 31082
Telephone: (478) 553-2457
Email: ghaynes@oftc.edu
Additional Contact: Lisa Beck
Telephone: (404) 679-1666
Email: Lbeck@tcsg.edu
Additional Contact: Mr. Ronald W. Jackson, Commissioner
Telephone: (404) 679-1601
Email: rjackson@tcsg.edu

Mr. Glenn Rasco
Vice President of Instructional Services
Appalachian Technical College
1100 Campus Drive
Jasper, Georgia 30143
Telephone: (706) 253-4518
Email: grasco@appalachiantech.edu
Additional Contact: Gary Haynes
Email: ghaynes@oftc.edu

IDAHO
Mr. Reed Lewis
Interim Director
Idaho Geological Survey
University of Idaho
Morrill Hall
Moscow, ID 83844-3014
Telephone: (208) 885-7472
Email: reedl@uidaho.edu

ILLINOIS
Jim Hafliger
Acting Director
Office of Mines and Minerals
Illinois Department of Natural Resources
1 Natural Resources Way, First Floor
Springfield, IL 62702-1271
Telephone: (217) 782-6791
Email: jim.hafliger@illinois.gov

Mr. Art Rice
Mine Safety and Training Division
Office of Mines and Minerals
Illinois Department of Natural Resources
Southern Illinois Regional Office
503 East Main Street
Benton, IL 62812
Telephone: (618) 439-9111
Email: Art.Rice@illinois.gov
Additional Contact: Ed Ruffinoe
Email: Ruffinoe@rlc.edu

INDIANA
Mr. Greg Gibson
Director
Mining Program
Vincennes University
Gibson Center
1800 South US 41
Ft. Branch, IN 46748
Telephone: (812) 888-5032
Email: ggibson@vinu.edu
Additional Contact: Diana Finnin, Executive Director
Telephone: (812) 888-2871
Email: dfinnin@vinu.edu

IOWA Mr. Donald Doucette
Chancellor
Eastern Iowa Community College District
306 West River Drive
Davenport, Iowa 52801-1221
Telephone: (563) 336-3300
Email: ddoucette@eicc.edu
Additional Contact: Ellen Kabat Lensch
Telephone: (563) 336-3331
Email: ekabat@eicc.edu
Additional Contact: Lori Finn
Email: Lfinn@eicc.edu
Telephone: (563) 336-3333

KANSAS
Mr. Ken Dobrinski
Program Manager
Kansas Small Mine Safety Program
Hutchinson Community College
1300 North Plum
Hutchinson, KS 67501-5894
Telephone: (620) 665-4991
Email: Dobrinskik@hutchcc.edu

KENTUCKY
Mr. Frank Reed
Director
Div. of Safety Analysis, Training and Certification
P.O. Box 2244
Frankfort, KY 40602-2244
Telephone: (502) 573-0140
Email: Franklin.Reed@KY.gov
Additional Contact: Beth Minch
Email: Beth.Minch@ky.gov

LOUISIANA
Mr. Jeffrey Hodges
Program Coordinator
MSHA State Grant Program
Northshore Technical College
Florida Parishes Campus
P.O. Box 1300
Greensburg, LA 70441
Telephone: (800) 827-9750 ext. 2221
Email: JeffreyHodges@Northshorecollege.edu

MAINE
Mr. Michael A. LaPlante
Supervisor
Occupational Safety & Health Program
ME. Department of Labor
Hallowell Annex, State House Station #45
Augusta, ME 04333-0045
Telephone: (207) 623-7921
Email: Michael.A.LaPlante@Maine.gov

MARYLAND
Ms. Karen L. Brandt
Director
with Maryland Center for Environmental Training, CSM
PO Box 910, 8730 Mitchell Road
La Plata, MD 20646
Telephone: (301) 934-7504
Email: KBrandt@mcet.org

MASSACHUSETTS
Mr. Michael Flanagan, Manager
Department of Labor Standards
Safety and Health Programs
Telephone: (617) 626-6958
Mobile: (617) 455-1446
Web: www.mass.gov/dols
Additional Contact: Maxine Garbo
Email: Maxine.Garbo@state.ma.us

MICHIGAN
Mr. Murray Gillis
Program Manager
Department of Mining Engineering
Michigan Technological University
Room 418, Minerals & Materials Engineering Building
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI 49931-1295
Telephone: (906) 487-1820
Email: jmgillis@mtu.edu
Additional Contacts: Dave Carlson, Peggy, Jake Drenth
Emails: dcarlson@mtu.edu , peggerdi@mtu.edu jdrenth53@gmail.com

MINNESOTA
Mr. Don Beckering
State Director
Fire/EMS/Safety Training
MN. State Colleges & Universities
30 7th Street East, Ste. 350
St. Paul, MN 55101-7804
Telephone: (651) 201-1790
Email: don.beckering@csu.mnscu.edu
Additional Contact: Robert Weston
Email: Robert.Weston@SOUTHCENTRAL.edu
Additional Contact: Terry Weston
Email: Terry.Weston@SOUTHCENTRAL.edu
Additional Contact: Terry Meschke
Email: Terry.Meschke@SOUTHCENTRAL.edu
Additional Contact: Barb Johnson
Email: barbjohnson@HIBBING.edu

MISSISSIPPI
Mr. James Matheny
Director
Mining and Reclamation Division
Office of Geology
Department of Environmental Quality
515 E. Amite Street
P.O. Box 2249
Jackson, MS 39225
Telephone: (601) 961-5527
Email: James_Matheny@deq.state.ms.us

MISSOURI
Mr. Les Thomas
Assistant Director
Division of Labor Standards, Mine and Cave Safety
Department of Labor and Industrial Relations
3315 W. Truman Blvd., Suite 205
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0449
Telephone: (573) 751-3403
Cell: (573) 218-8576
Email: Les.Thomas@labor.mo.gov

MONTANA
Mr. Bryan Page
Safety and Health Bureau
Employment Relations Division
Montana Department of Labor and Industry
1327 Lockey Avenue, P.O. Box 1728
Helena, MT 59624-1728
Telephone: (406) 444-1605
Office Telephone: (406) 444-6401
Email: BPage@mt.gov

NAVAJO NATION
Mr. Akhtar Zaman
Director, Minerals Department
Navajo Nation
P.O. Box 1910
Window Rock and Morgan Blvd
Window Rock, AZ 86515
Telephone: (928) 871-6587
Email: akhtarz@yahoo.com or zamanakh@yahoo.com
Additional Contact: Ram Das
Email: dasram01@hotmail.com

NEBRASKA
Mr. Mick Anderson
Director
Nebraska Safety Center, West Center Bldg., E200
University of Nebraska at Kearney
905 W. 25th Street
Kearney, NE 68849-4550
Telephone: (308) 440-9393
Email: andersonm@unk.edu
Email: minesafety@unk.edu
Additional Contact: Marshal Barth
Telephone: (308) 865-8755
Email: barthmj@unk.edu
Additional Contacts: Sherry Morrow, D. Morris
Emails: morrows@unk.edu  ,  morrisd@unk.edu

NEVADA
Mr. Jeff Bixler
Chief Administrative Officer
Mine Safety & Training Section
Division of Industrial Relations
Department of Business and Industry
400 West King Street, Suite 210
Carson City, NV 89703
Telephone: (775) 684-7085
Email: jbixler@business.nv.gov

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Ms. Jackie Heuser
Director
Office of Workforce Opportunity
New Hampshire Department of Resources
and Economic Development
172 Pembroke Rd
Concord, NH 03301
Telephone: (603) 271-7275
Email: Jacqueline.Heuser@dred.nh.us

NEW JERSEY
Mr. Mark Wadiak
Assistant Director
WDPP, PEOSH & Mine Safety Training Unit
New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Division of Public Safety and Occupational Safety and Health
P. O. Box 386
Trenton, NJ 08625-0953
Telephone: (609) 984-0785
Email: Wadiak.Mark@dol.gov
Additional Contact: Ken Heintz
Email: Kenneth.Heintz@dol.state.nj.us

NEW MEXICO
Mr. Terence G. Foreback
New Mexico State Mine Inspector
New Mexico Bureau of Mine Safety
NM Institute of Mining Technology
801 Leroy Place
Socorro, NM 87801
Telephone: (575) 835-5460
Email: tforeback@admin.nmt.edu
Additional Contact: Chris Hefner
Email: chefner@admin.nmt.edu

NEW YORK
Ms. Eileen Franko
Director
Division of Safety & Health
New York Department of Labor
Building 12, State Office Campus Rm. 522
Albany, NY 12240
Telephone: (518) 457-3518
Email:  eileen.franko@labor.ny.gov
Website: http://www.labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/safetyhealth/DOSH_MSHA.shtm

NORTH CAROLINA
Mr. William Gerringer
Chief, Mine & Quarry Bureau
North Carolina Department of Labor
1101 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1101
Telephone: (919) 807-2790
Email: William.Gerringer@labor.nc.gov
Additional Contacts: Marcia Page
Emails: marcia.page@labor.nc.gov

NORTH DAKOTA
Mr. Chuck Clairmont
Acting Executive Director
North Dakota Safety Council
1640 Burnt Boat Drive
Bismarck, ND 58503
Telephone: (701) 223-6372
Email: cclairmont@ndsc.org

OHIO
Mr. Craig Corder
Mine Safety Manager
Division of Mineral Resources Management
Department of Natural Resources
2045 Morse Road
Building H-3
Columbus, OH 43229-6693
Telephone: (740) 942-9150
Cell Phone: (614) 301-3836
Email: craig.corder@dnr.state.oh.us
Additional Contact: Lanny Eros
Email:  lanny.erdos@dnr.state.oh.us
 
OKLAHOMA
Mr. Aaron Farris
Director
OK Miner Training Institute
c/o EOSC - Baker Hall
1301 West Main
Wilburton, OK 74578
Telephone: (918) 465-1872
Email: AFarris@eosc.edu
Additional Contact: Danita Oller
Email: doller@eosc.edu

OREGON
Mr. Ed Sinner
Program Director
Oregon Mine Safety & Health Training Program
Eastern Oregon University
One University Boulevard
La Grande, OR 97850
Telephone/FAX: (541) 962-3005
Cell:  (541) 910-4156
Email: esinner@eou.edu

PENNSYLVANIA
Mr. Jeffrey Stanchek
Deep Mine Safety Emergency Response and Training Manager
Bureau of Deep Mine Safety
100 New Salem Road, Room 167
Uniontown, PA 15401
Telephone: (724) 439-7302
Email: jstanchek@state.pa.us
Additional Contact: Joseph Sbaffoni
Email: jsbaffoni@pa.gov

RHODE ISLAND
Dr. Jacob Kovel, Chair
Department of Manufacturing and Construction Management
Central Connecticut State University
1615 Stanley Street
New Britain, CT 06050
Telephone: (860) 832-0192 Main
Alternate:  (860) 832-1835
Email: kovelj@ccsu.edu

SOUTH CAROLINA
Mr. Clif Jester
MSHA Program Director
Division of Continuing Education
And Workforce Development
Technical College of the Low Country
P.O. Box 1228
921 Ribaut Road
Beaufort, SC 29901
Telephone: (843) 540 -1865
Email: CJester@TCL.edu

Mr. Billy O’Neal
Program Manager
Workforce Development Division
Technical College of the Low Country
P.O. Box 1228
921 Ribaut Road
Beaufort, SC 29901
Telephone: (843) 525-8269
Email: Boneal@TCL.edu

SOUTH DAKOTA
Dr. Charles Kliche
Mining Engineering and Management Program
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
501 E. St. Joseph Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
Telephone: (605) 394-2344
Direct Number: (605) 394-1972
Email: Charles.Kliche@sdsmt.edu
Additional Contact: Pat Irwin
Email: pirwin@tcl.edu

TENNESSEE
Mr. Oscar Frederick
Director, Division of Mines
TN Department of Labor and Workforce Development
P.O. Box 124
Caryville, TN 37714
Telephone: (423) 566-9709
Email: Oscar.Frederick@TN.gov
Additional Contact: Kathy McCain
Telephone:  (615) 532-1338
Email: Kathy.McCain@TN.gov

TEXAS
Ms. Amanda Sanchez
Program Manager
Texas Mine Safety and Health Training Program
Professional Development Center
University of Texas at Austin
P.O. Box 7518
Austin, TX 78713-7518
Telephone: (512) 232-1952 Main
Toll Free: (855) 896-4637 (1-855-TX-MINER)
Direct:  (512) 232-6125
Email: amandasanchez@austin.utexas.edu
Website: http://www.utexashealthsafety.org

UTAH
Mr. Dale R. Evans
Lecturer/Program Manager
USU Eastern
451 East 400 North
Price, Utah 84501
Telephone: (435) 613-5500
Email: dale.evans@usu.edu
Website: http://mining.ceu.edu

VERMONT
Mr. Richard J. Wobby, Jr., CMSP
Director, Member Services
Associated General Contractors of Vermont
1 Graves Street, PO Box 750
Montpelier, VT 05601-0750
Telephone: (802) 223-2374
Email: rjw@agcvt.org

VIRGINIA
Mr. Carroll Green
Supervisor, Division of Mines
VA Department of Mines, Minerals & Energy
P.O. Drawer 900
Big Stone Gap, VA 24219
Telephone: (276) 523-8232
Email: Carroll.Green@dmme.virginia.gov
Additional Contact: Butch Lambert
Email: Butch.Lambert@dmme.virginia.gov
Additional Contact: Conrad Spangler
Email: Conrad.Spangler@dmme.virginia.gov

WASHINGTON
Dr. Donald Richter
Program Director, Mine Safety & Health
Eastern Washington University
319G CEB
Cheney, WA 99004-2493
Telephone: (509) 359-2880
Cell: (509) 990-5536
Email: drichter@ewu.edu
Website: https://sites.ewu.edu/mine-safety/

WEST VIRGINIA
Mr. Eugene White
Director
West Virginia Office of Miners' Health,
Safety and Training
1615 Washington East
Charleston, WV 25311-2126
Telephone: (304) 558-1425
Email: Eugene.E.White@wv.gov
Additional Contact: Tom McClure
Email: tom.l.mcclure@wv.gov

WISCONSIN
Mr. Robin Zentner
Bureau Director
WI Department of Safety and Professional Services
Industry Services Division
1400 East Washington Avenue
PO Box 2658
Madison, WI 53701
Telephone: (608) 261-2503
Email: Robin.Zentner@wisconsin.gov
Additional Contact: Paula Veltum
Email: paula.veltum2@wisconsin.gov
Telephone: (608) 266-1816

WYOMING
Mr. Gary Wolfe
Program Director
WY MSHA State Grant Program, Gillette College
300 West Sinclair
Gillette, WY 82718
Telephone: (307) 686-0254 ext. 1685 (Gillette)
FAX: (307) 686-8179 (Gilette)
Cell: (307) 871-1510
Email: gwolfe@wyoming.com
Alternate Email: gwolfe@sheridan.edu