
2016 Mine Rescue Questions and Answers 
 
Q: Does “explore the entire mine and account for all missing persons” mean that 
even if the missing persons are accounted for and there are accessible areas 
that have not been explored, those accessible areas have to be explored. 
 
A. Yes.  Team will be discounted under Rule 44A if they don’t. 
 
 
Q:  Ventilating over an inextinguishable fire.  What about sending low O2 over 
the fire area if all missing persons have been located.  We can send it through 
unexplored areas, why not over an inextinguishable fire. 
 
A:  Rule 30 G prohibits it.  The practice of sending air over a burning fire would 
provide oxygen to the fire, possibly causing the fire to increase or spread. 
 
Q:  Can back-up teams turn fans on or off, or pumps on or off? 
 
A:  No.  
 
Q:  Rule 30A1(c)  Would the team be discounted if the captain didn’t finish the 
roof test before bringing the patient out? 
 
A:  No 
 
Q: For timbers previously set before the team arrives.  Could we put something in 
the rules that states they can or cannot be used?  My team was discounted at 
one contest for using a timber already set and then discounted later for NOT 
using a timber previously set. 
 
A:  Timbers previously set CANNOT be used by the working team.  Problem 
designers should provide enough timbers to allow the working team to support 
any necessary areas required by the problem. 
 
Q:  Roof Test – What if both a zig-zag and straight across test is done, is this a 
discount? 
 
A:  No, additional tests should not be discounted. 
 
Q:   The number of team members in isolation will be limited to ten uniformed 
team members.  Is the Command Center Attendant (CCA) included in the ten 
team members? 
 
A:  Rule 7 under Interpretation of A Cards states that the CCA may or may not be 
one of the ten team members referred to in the rules.  This was to allow the 
teams to use someone that is not trained as a mine-rescue team member as the 



CCA.  (Additionally, the CCA does not have to be dressed the same as the rest 
of the team.)   
 
Q: Do the 2014 and 2015 Questions and Answers apply in 2016? 
 
A:  No, applicable ones were incorporated into the 2016 rules, and the rest will be 
removed from the web site. 
 
Q: Rule 36 – How would a team member be discounted for not immediately 
returning to the lifeline in smoke once the patient is placed on stretcher.  It isn’t 
addressed in Rule 36. 
 
A:  Discount under Rule 22, a 2-point discount for each person who does not 
immediately return to lifeline. 
 
Q:  Does brattice cloths have to be shown as moved on the briefing officer’s 
map? 
 
A:  No, not required by rules. 
 
Q:  We are now going to have a gas placard alongside conditions such as unsafe 
roof.  With that being said, if the placard is the least bit inby the unsafe roof, the 
team does not have to map the gas box.  Should we not have the gas placard 
immediately outby the condition. 
 
A:  We expect the gas placard that is intended to be at the condition to be 
ADJACENT (side by side) with the placard for the condition.  Problem designers 
should make it plain that the placards are side by side. 
 
Q:  Roof and rib tests must be made where the roof is designated unsafe, caved 
areas, prior to building a temporary stopping, rebuilding a stopping, and at all 
faces.  Does that mean that a captain would not have to take a roof and rib test 
at caved airtight areas? 
 
A:  A caved airtight area is a caved area. 
 
Q:  Rule 6 – Does the BO/CCA have to write out condition of a live person 
(walking, talking, etc.)? 
 
A:  Yes, the only exceptions are for conditions of permanent and temporary 
stoppings. 
 
Q:  Team map and BO/CCA map – If a man is talking (Help, get me out of here.) 
but placard does not say talking, do maps need to indicate talking? 
 
A:  No, only what is on the placard describing the patient. 



 
Q:  Statement 45:  It should read “Carbon monoxide can be explosive” instead of 
“Carbon monoxide is explosive.” 
 
A:  Carbon monoxide is explosive at certain ranges, so the sentence is true. 
 
Q:  Is a gas test required at an FPA? 
 
A:  No. 
 
Q:  Is the fresh air base the only location a back-up team can build? 
 
A:  Yes, and only there after the captain has performed a roof and rib test for the 
area. 
 
Q:  What determines the start of the building process for a team-built temporary 
stopping? 
 
A:  One side of the stopping must be built.  Where curtains with hooks are used, 
one side must be attached/hooked to the railing, ropes, etc. 
 
Q:  Figure 6 inby overcast indicates to build two stoppings.  If the caved area is 
airtight, will one build suffice? 
 
A:  Yes, if there is an airtight separation in the area where one of the airlocks 
must be built, the airtight separation will suffice for the airlock. 
 
Q:  Can a CSE SR 100 be used in a contest? 
 
A:  Yes, but only for mine rescue contests/practices and only for a conscious live 
person.  The CSE SR 100 must have been opened and turned into a training 
model.  Additionally, the CSE SR 100 must be sterilized and properly assembled. 
 
Q:  Will there only be one patient or live person inside an RA for mine rescue 
contests? 
 
A:  Yes, Rule 41A states only 1 live person maximum will be in an RA.  (There 
can be multiple bodies.) 
 
Q:  Rule 48D – For ventilating purposes, the rule states that diagonal structures 
“may only be placed” from corner to corner.  In entries with a solid pillar line on 
the left or right of an intersection, how does this rule apply and can a diagonal 
structure be used here? 
 
A:  If there is a room neck or opening in the solid rib in this intersection, a 
diagonal could be used.  Otherwise, it can’t be used. 



 
Q:  Does the captain have to initiate and conduct apparatus checks? 
 
A:  Rule 7 under Interpretations of B Cards states “Each team captain will 
examine gauges and apparatus of team members and have his gauge and 
apparatus examined by a team member.”  So, YES, the captain must initiate the 
check and examine the other four team members.  (Note:  Any team member can 
keep track of the time and alert the captain that it is time for team apparatus 
check.) 
 
Q:  Rule 23 – If a problem is designed with an object/condition, person, etc., in or 
under an overhanging brow and must be mapped, what would be the correct 
procedure to explore or recover the object/condition, person, etc.? 
 
A:  The rules do not address how to support an overhanging brow or unsafe rib.  
Problem designers are not to put anything in these areas that would have to be 
moved, reached, or recovered by the team.  Only objects that must be mapped 
but not have to be reached by the team for the working of the problem may be 
placed in such areas this year. 
 
Q:  Rule 24A – Where a gas test is required at an intact barricade, the extent of 
gas should end there.  Why is it necessary to ventilate to breach a barricade? 
 
A:   The barricade is built to keep the person(s) behind the barricade safe from 
dangerous and irrespirable atmospheres.  If the barricade is breached without 
removing such atmospheres, it is likely that the atmospheres would migrate into 
the barricade and endanger the person(s) life. 
 
Q:  Fresh Air Base Procedures – Will the team be discounted for having technical 
difficulties during the 4-minute setup period?  Example: The SD card doesn’t load 
or boot-up immediately or a power supply issue occurs? 
 
A:  If it is a problem because of the contest, then No the team would not be 
discounted.  The contest officials should work to resolve the issue before starting 
the clock.  If the problem is due to the team’s equipment, if it can’t be resolved 
quickly, the clock will be started and the team will just not be able to do the 
electronic mapping. 
 
Q:  If the fan is OFF and is shown as such on the team and BO/CCA maps, does 
blowing or exhausting have to be shown? 
 
A:  If the fan is off to start with, it is neither blowing nor exhausting and will not be 
shown.  If the team shuts the fan off at the end of the problem, it will be shown as 
off on all maps and a direction will not be needed. 
 



Q:  If a team is in an intersection at a team stop and finds timbers that could be 
used to rescue a person from under unsafe roof in an outby area of the mine, 
does the team have to go rescue the patient and then return to the same 
intersection and finish the exploration? 
 
A:  Under Rule 41(c)(1), the team can perform any function at that team stop 
where the timbers are found other than the restrictions listed.  So the team may 
finish team functions and then go back and recover the patient, as long as the #5 
man does not pass the timbers.  If the team does not finish everything at the 
team stop where the timbers were found, the team must return to this team stop 
and finish exploration there before advancing to another unexplored intersection. 
 
Q:  If a placard states “Temporary Stopping Not Intact,” does the team have to 
write in “Not Intact” on the team map? 
 
A:  No, just the symbol. 
 
Q:  If a placard states “Airtight Permanent Stopping,” does the team have to write 
in “Airtight” on the team map? 
 
A:  No, just the symbol. 
 
Q:  Rule 1 – If a team does not have a patient for any reason and a bystander is 
used, what if the team does not put the patient under air and sometimes not even 
on a stretcher if required.  With this clear advantage on time and proper donning 
of apparatus, will all teams competing be granted this same option to not follow 
the rules regarding their patients? 
 
A:  At the national contest, we will consider an emergency as something that 
occurs after the team has registered on site.  We expect a team to bring a patient 
with them to the contest.  If something happens at the contest and the team is 
then without a patient, the contest directors will provide a patient.  At the national 
contest, we plan to use someone that is trained as a mine rescue team member 
(our MEU team).  Local contests may have similar requirements. 
 
Q:  A card Rule 3 – The discounts given to teams for exceeding the average time 
are not always fair to the teams who work the problems correctly.  Teams who 
work the problem correctly by the rules have been given discounts for being 
slower than the average time because other teams may do it quicker but wrong.  
Why not apply a time limit to all problems so this situation does not occur? 
 
A:  Rule was put in place to try to address as many situations as we could.  We 
feel we made it as fair as possible. 
 



Q:  A card Rule 5 – When a team tears down a barricade and then puts it back 
up, is it a temporary stopping or a barricade?  What if it is moved slightly from the 
original place where it was found? 
 
A:  If both sides are unhooked, show it as a temporary stopping.  A roof and rib 
test will be required in this case.  If one side is unhooked, verbiage showing it put 
back will be all that is required if the one side is reattached. 
 
Q:  A card Rule 6 – At the end of paragraph 3 it reads “2 per team stop, 
maximum of 6 per problem.”  Does this mean for everything included in that 
paragraph. 
 
A:  No, only for the dotted lines. 
 
Q:  A card – If the team and BO/CCA maps are correct with the way the problem 
was worked at the end of the working time, where does it say in the rules to 
discount both maps based on what is put on the final vent map? 
 
A:  If the team and BO/CCA maps are correct, it should reflect the same thing on 
the final vent map.  Team captain or designee is given the opportunity to see the 
final vent map and agree that it is correct. 
 
Q:  Please define ‘visual.’  We have been told visual means side by side in 
direction of travel, yet Rule 23 states “in an intersection, placards on imaginary 
rib lines will be considered as being discovered when the captain enters the 
intersection.” 
 
A:  Everything IN the intersection must be addressed as the captain discovers it.  
Placards ON imaginary rib lines of intersections must be addressed prior to team 
leaving the area.  If the condition extends into the intersection, it must be 
addressed by the captain prior to advancing into the opening. 
 
Q:  Can the backup team move a stopping in the fresh air base if the captain of 
the working team has made two roof checks at different locations? 
 
A:  Captain of the working team must intial the first stopping after the building 
process has begun and before the clock stops or the stopping is completely torn 
down.  But yes, the backup team can move a stopping to a different location in 
the fresh air base if the roof and rib has been done for the new location. 
 
Q:  Rule 48E – How is a solid rib any different than a corner for using a line 
curtain? 
 
A:  For contest purposes, it will allow the problem designers to better control how 
the mine will be ventilated.    
 



Q:  Is visual evidence of a fire, that is, actually finding a fire, treated the same as 
finding evidence of a fire (over 10 PPM Carbon Monoxide)? 
 
A:  Yes, the rule states “evidence of fire.”  Visual confirmation of a fire, CO over 
10 PPM, and smoke are all evidence of a fire. 
 
Q:  If a team finds a fire and it leads to a withdrawal situation because there is 
not a known clear-air separation, does the team need to put the fire out? 
 
A:  The rule allows teams to go to anywhere they have already been at that team 
stop.  It does not preclude putting out the fire, as long as no further exploration is 
done.  The teams would not be discounted either way, putting it out or not putting 
it out.  

 


