Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government.

State Grant Participants

Listed are the states participating in the MSHA grants program with links to each state program Summary. Also program officials and contact persons are listed with phone numbers and e-mail addresses.

State Grants Participants Contact list
State Contact Information
ALABAMA

Mr. Rob Dzurino
Director of Mining Safety & Technology
Bevill State Community College 
101 State Street, Box 800
Sumiton, AL 35148
Telephone: 205-648-3271 Ext. 5225
Email: Robin.Dzurino@bscc.edu 
Website: www.bscc.edu/programs/workforce-solutions/mining-technology

Additional Contact: Ms. Connie Carmichael
Telephone: 205-648-3271 ext. 5433
Email: Connie.carmichael@bscc.edu

Dr. Russell Howton
Telephone: 205-648-3271 ext. 5703
Email: Russell.Howton@bscc.edu

Emma Rains 
Telephone: 205-387-0511 Ext. 5202
e-mail:  Emma.rains@bscc.edu 

Ms. Jamie McCool
Telephone: 205-648-5418
Email: Jamie.mccool@bscc.edu 

ALASKA

Mr. William Bieber 
Director, Mining and Petroleum Training Services
University of Alaska Fairbanks
162 College Road
Soldotna, AK 99669
Telephone: (907) 262-0231
Email: whbieber01@alaska.edu


Additional Contact:  Shirley McCaa
Telephone: (907) 786-6413
Email: sjmccaa@alaska.edu

Website: www.uaf.edu/mapts/

ARIZONA

Ms. Laurie Swartzbaugh  
Deputy Director
Arizona State Mine Inspector's Office
1700 West Washington, Suite 403
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2805
Telephone: (602) 542-5971
Email: lswartzbaugh@asmi.az.gov

http://asmi.az.gov/services/msha-training/Phoenix
Additional Contact: Ron Weber
Email: rweber@asmi.az.gov
Web: MSHA Training | Arizona State Mine Inspector (az.gov)

ARKANSAS

John Boswell
Education & Instruction Coordinator
Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing
900 West Capitol, Suite 400
Little Rock AR, 72201
Telephone: 501-690-8392
Email: John.boswell@arkansas.gov
Website: https://labor.arkansas.gov  

CALIFORNIA

Ms. Diane Fionda            

Senior Safety Engineer

California Department of Industrial Relations

Division of Occupational Safety and Health

464 West 4th Street, Suite 354

San Bernardino, CA 92401

Telephone: (909) 549-0515

Email: dfionda@dir.ca.gov

Web: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/mining-and-tunneling-unit.html

COLORADO

Mr. Brandon D Neal
Mine Safety Program Director
Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety
CO Dept. of Natural Resources
1313 Sherman Street, Room 215
Denver, CO 80203
Telephone: 303-870-0431
Email: brandon.neal@state.co.us
Website: https://www.colorado.gov/drms

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI)

Ms. Leila Fleming Staffler
Secretary 
CNMI Department of Labor
1356 Mednilla Avenue, Capitol Hill
Saipan, MP 96950
Tel: (670) 664-3196
Fax: (670) 664-3197
Email: leila.staffler@dol.gov.mp 
Website: http://www.marianaslabor.net

CONNECTICUT

Dr. Talat Salama, 
Professor
Department of Manufacturing and Construction Management
School of Engineering, Science, & Technology
Central Connecticut State University
School of Engineering, Science & Technology
Department of Manufacturing and Construction Management
1615 Stanley Street
P.O. Box 4010
New Britain, CT 06050
Telephone: 860-832-2619
Email: talats@ccsu.edu

Additional Contact:
Kathy Moore
Email: moorek@ccsu.edu
Website: www.msha.gov/connecticut

DELAWARE

Mr. Dustin Mowery

Emergency Response and Training Manager

Department of Environmental Protection

Bureau of Mine Safety

131 Broadview Road

New Stanton, PA 15672

Telephone: (724) 404-3146

Cell: (724) 541-2563

Email: dumowery@pa.gov

Website:https://www.dep.pa.gov/Business/Land/Mining/BureauofMineSafety/Pages/default.aspx

Additional Contact: Mr. Richard A. Wagner

Email: Rwagner@pa.gov

 

FLORIDA

Karen Miller, CMSP
Mining Program Manager
Florida Public Safety Institute
Tallahassee Community College
75 College Drive, Suite 204, Room 259
Havana, FL 32333
Telephone: 850-201-7689
Fax: 850-201-7684
E-Mail: Karen.Miller@tcc.fl.edu  
Website: https://www.flminesafety.com