Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government.

State Grant Participants

Listed are the states participating in the MSHA grants program with links to each state program Summary. Also program officials and contact persons are listed with phone numbers and e-mail addresses.

State Grants Participants Contact list
State Contact Information
ALABAMA

Mr. Ken Russell
Director of Workforce Solutions
Bevill State Community College 
101 State Street, Box 800
Sumiton, AL 35148
Telephone: (205) 648-3271 (Ext. 5225)
Email: Ken.Russell@bscc.edu
Website: www.bscc.edu/programs/workforce-solutions/mining-technology

Additional Contact: Ms. Connie Carmichael
Telephone –205 648 3271 ext. 5433
Email: Connie.carmichael@bscc.edu

Ms. Jamie McCool
Telephone: (205) 648-5418
Email: Jamie.mccool@bscc.edu

ALASKA

Mr. William Bieber 
Director, Mining and Petroleum Training Services
University of Alaska 
162 College Road
Soldotna, AK 99669
Telephone: (907) 262-0231
Email: whbieber01@alaska.edu

Additional Contact:  Elizabeth Hardie
Email: eahardie@alaska.edu
Website: www.uaf.edu/mapts/

ARIZONA

Ms. Laurie Swartzbaugh  
Deputy Director
Arizona State Mine Inspector's Office
1700 West Washington, Suite 403
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2805
Telephone: (602) 542-5971
Email: lswartzbaugh@asmi.az.gov

Additional Contact: Ron Weber
Email: rweber@asmi.az.gov
Web: http://asmi.az.gov/services/msha-training/Phoenix

ARKANSAS

Ms. Bobbie Via
Education & Instruction Coordinator
Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing
900 West Capitol, Suite 400
Little Rock AR, 72201
Telephone: (501) 690-8968
Email: Bobbie.Via@arkansas.gov
Website: https://labor.arkansas.gov

CALIFORNIA

Ms. Diane Fionda            
Senior Safety Engineer
California Department of Industrial Relations
Division of Occupational Safety and Health
464 West 4th Street, Suite 354
San Bernardino, CA 92401
Telephone: (909) 549-0515
Email: dfionda@dir.ca.gov
Web: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/mining-and-tunneling-unit.html

COLORADO

Mr. Brandon D Neal
Mine Safety Program Director
Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety
CO Dept. of Natural Resources
1313 Sherman Street, Room 215
Denver, CO 80203
Telephone: (303) 866-3567 ext. 8151
Email: brandon.neal@state.co.us
Website: https://www.colorado.gov/drms

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI)

Vicky I. Benavente
Secretary 
CNMI Department of Labor
1356 Mednilla Avenue
Caller Box 10007
Saipan, MP 96950
Tel: (670) 664-3196
Fax: (670) 664-3197
Email: vicky.benavente@gov.mp
Website: http://www.marianaslabor.net

CONNECTICUT

Talat Salama, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor
Department of Manufacturing and Construction Management
School of Engineering, Science, & Technology
Central Connecticut State University
1615 Stanley Street
P.O. Box 4010
New Britain, CT 06050
Telephone: 860-832-2619
Email: talats@ccsu.edu

Additional Contact:
Kathy Moore
Phone: (860) 832-2005
Email: moorek@ccsu.edu

 

DELAWARE

Mr. Dustin Mowery
Emergency Response and Training Manager
Department of Environmental Protection
Bureau of Mine Safety
131 Broadview Road
New Stanton, PA 15672
Telephone: (724) 404-3146
Cell: (724) 541-2563
Email: dumowery@pa.gov
Website:https://www.dep.pa.gov/Business/Land/Mining/BureauofMineSafety/Pages/default.aspx

Additional Contact: Mr. Richard A. Wagner
Email: Rwagner@pa.gov

 

FLORIDA

Karen Miller, CMSP
Mining Program Manager   
Florida Public Safety Institute
Tallahassee Community College
75 College Drive, Suite 135, Room 137
Havana, FL 32333
(850) 201-7689
Fax: (850) 201-7684
E-Mail: Karen.Miller@tcc.fl.edu
Website: https://www.flminesafety.com