2018 Coal Mine Rescue Contest Information Local Contest Schedule

Local Contest Schedule

•   2018 Mine Rescue, First Aid, Bench and Preshift Rules Training
Where:           National Mine Academy – Beaver, WV
When:            April 2-6, 2018
Contacts:    
Erica Warren – Phone (606) 546-5123/Email: warren.erica@dol.gov
Angela Cook – Phone (304) 732-6410/Email: cook.angela@dol.gov

   West Virginia Mine Rescue Alliance, Mine Rescue Skills Contest
(Limited to the first 15 teams that register with Mr. Blankenship)
Where:    National Mine Academy - Beaver, WV
When:            April 23-24, 2018
Contacts:     
Darren Blankenship – Phone (304) 673-7520/Email: darrenblankenship@suddenlink.net   

   NMRA KY Post 2 “Smoke Eaters” Bench Contest Only
Where:           Double Tree Inn & Suites - Lexington KY
When:            May 11, 2018
Contacts:    
Lewis McCoy – Phone (412) 418-0612/Email: lsm@csecorporation.com

   Alabama Mine Rescue Contest
Where:           Bevill State Community College - Sumiton, AL
When:            May 15-17, 2018
Contacts:    
Patty Tice – Phone (205) 871-3734/Email: patty@alcoal.com

   Welch, Post #1 Mine Rescue Contest
Where:           Bluefield State College – Bluefield, WV
When:            May 19, 2018
Contacts:    
Mike Plumley – Phone (304) 960-0340/Email: Michael.plumley@brickstreet.com

   Western KY Safety Days
Where:           Madisonville, KY
When:            May 23-24, 2018
Contacts:     
Kevin Vaughn – Phone (270) 389-6700 Ext. 6723/Email: kevin.vaughn@arlp.com

•    2018 Tennessee - Cove Lake Mine Rescue
Where:           Cove Lake State Park – Cove Lake, TN
When:            June 5-7, 2018
Contacts:    
Cindi Reynolds – Phone (423) 566-0329/Email: cindi.reynolds@campbellcountychamber.org

   Mine Rescue Association of Indiana
Where:           Vincennes University – Vincennes, IN
When:            June 5-7, 2018
Contacts:    
Ruth Messel – Phone (812) 881-9315/Email: ruth.messel@gmail.com

   Post 6 Ohio Valley Mine Rescue Contest
Where:           ODNR Facility – Cadiz, OH
When:            June 5-7, 2018
Contacts:    
Robbie Roberts – Phone (740) 296-9216/Email: robertroberts@consolenergy.com

   Virginia Governors Cup
Where:           UVA, VA
When:            June 7, 2018
Contacts:    
Chris Whitt – (276) 523-8264/Email: chris.whitt@dmme.virginia.gov

   RMMRA Mine Rescue, First Aid, Bench and Preshift
Where:           Carbon High School – Price, UT
When:            June 11-14, 2018
Contacts:    
Denny Erickson – Phone (435) 630-3476/Email: derickson@broncoutah.com

   Kentucky River Mine Rescue
Where:           Hazard High School - Hazard, KY
When:            June 12-14, 2018
Contacts:    
Pauletta Smith – Phone (606) 438-4287/Email: Psmith1@mikrotec.com

   Colorado Mine Rescue Association Mine Rescue, First Aid, Bench Contest
Where:           Delta, CO
When:            July 16-20, 2018
Contacts:    
Mark Beauchamp – Phone (970) 367-6407/Email: mbeauchamp@peabodyenergy.com
Darrell Wynas – Phone (505) 598-2035/Email: dwynas@westmoreland.com
Ty Odle – Phone (970) 929-2260/Email: todel@archcoal.com

   Harlan County Safety Day Mine Rescue
Where:           Cumberland Campus, SKCTC – Cumberland, KY
When:             July 24-26, 2018
Contacts:    
Suzanne Williams or Tracy Bailey – Phone (606) 589-5812/Email: tricitychamber@windstream.net

   Virginia Mining Institute Safety Day Mine Rescue (2 day), Bench, Preshift, First Aid Competition
Where:           Blacksburg Park and Recreational Community Center - Blacksburg, VA
When:            August 6-9, 2018
Contacts:    
Diane Crouse – Phone (276) 988-4537/Email: dlcrouse1@verizon.net
Wayne Davis – Phone (276) 415-9650/Email: wayne.davis@dmme.virginia.gov

   2018 Illinois Mine Rescue Contest
Where:           Pavilion of Marion, IL
When:            August 8, 2018
Contacts:    
Bill Patterson – Phone (618) 439-9111 ext. 235/Email: bill.patterson@illinois.gov
Cheryl Adams - Email: crca@reagan.com

   Post 5 Mine Rescue Contest:         
Where:          Morgantown, WV
When:            August 14-16, 2018
Contacts:    
Michael Stark – Phone (304) 225-6851/Email: Stark.Michael@dol.gov

   Kentucky State Contest – Kentucky Mining Institute (KMI)
Where:           Lexington Convention Center – Lexington, KY
When:            August 20-23, 2018
Contacts:    
Geaunita Caylor – Phone (859) 257-2820/Email: g.caylor@uky.edu

   37th Biennial International Surface Mine Rescue Competition
Where:           Gillette, WY
When:            August 15-17, 2018
Contacts:    
Crystal Volk – Phone (307) 680-1160/Email: cvolk@slswestlube.com
Nick Brooks – Phone (307) 680-1160/Email: nbrooks@archcoal.com 

   PA Bituminous Safety Association Mine Rescue Contest
Where:           Greene County Fair Grounds – Waynesburg, PA
When:            August 21-22, 2018
Contacts:    
Alan Vozel – Phone (724) 963-6152/Email: voze@atlanticbb.net

   Southern West Virginia Mine Rescue, First Aid, Bench and Preshift
Where:           National Mine Academy – Beaver, WV
When:            August 27-30, 2018
Contacts:    
Danny Quesenberry – Phone (276) 596-0914/Email: dannyquesenberry50@hotmail.com

   2018 KY Coal Academy Regional Skills Contest
Where:           Kentucky Coal Academy – Madisonville, KY
When:            September 5-6, 2018
Contacts:    
Danny Knott – Phone (270) 871-0672/Email: dknott0001@kctcs.edu

   2018 National Mine Rescue Skills (Contest is limited to the top 3 finishing teams at the Regional Mine Rescue Skills Competition)
Where:           National Mine Academy – Beaver, WV
When:            September 17-20, 2018
Contacts:    
Darren Blankenship – Phone (304) 673-7520/Email: darrenblankenship@suddenlink.net