2020 Coal Mine Rescue Contest Information

Local Contest Schedule

• Mine Rescue, First Aid, Bench and Preshift Rules Training
Where:
         National Mine Academy – Beaver, WV
When:           April 1-2, 2020
Contacts:     
Erica Warren – Phone (606) 546-5123/Email: warren.erica@dol.gov  

West Virginia Mine Rescue Alliance, Mine Rescue Skills Contest
Where
:            National Mine Academy – Beaver, WV
When:             September 15-16, 2020 
Contacts:      
Darren Blankenship – Phone (304) 673-7520/Email: darrenblankenship@suddenlink.net

NMRA KY Post 2 “Smoke Eaters” Bench Contest Only
Where
:           Double Tree Inn & Suites - Lexington KY
When:            October 9-10, 2020
Contacts:     
Lewis McCoy – Phone (412) 418-0612/Email: lsm@csecorporation.com

Welch Post #1 Bluefield State Mine Rescue Contest
Where
:            Bluefield State College – Bluefield, WV
When:             May 16, 2020
Contacts:      
​Mike Plumley – Phone (304) 960-0340/Email: micheael.plumley@brickstreet.com

Alabama Mine Rescue Contest
Where
:           Bevill State Community College - Sumiton, AL
When:            May 19-21, 2020
Contacts:     
Patty Tice – Phone (205) 871-3734/Email: patty@alcoal.com

Western KY Safety Days
Where
:           Kentucky Coal Academy - Madisonville, KY
When:            Sept 16 – 17, 2020
Contacts:     
Kevin Vaughn – Phone (270) 836-3636/Email: kevin.vaughn
Kim Humphrey – Phone (270) 285-2774/Email: kim.humphrey@arlp.com

Rocky Mountain Mine Rescue Association Price Contest
Where
:           Carbon County Events Center – Price, UT
When:            June 1-4, 2020
Contacts:     
Denny Erickson – Phone (435) 630-3476/Email: derickson@broncoutah.com
Mark Beauchamp – Phone (970) 367-6407/Email: mbeauchamp@peabodyenergy.com                       

Virginia Governors Cup
Where:          
UVA, Wise, VA
When:            June 3-4, 2020
Contacts:     Chris Whitt – Phone (276) 523-8264/Email: chris.whitt@dmme.virginia.gov

Indiana State Mine Rescue Competition
Where:          
Vincennes University Gibson Center – Ft. Branch, IN
When:             August 26-27 
Contacts:     
Ruth Messel – Phone (812) 881-9315/Email: ruth.messel@gmail.com

Post 6 Ohio Valley Mine Rescue Contest
Where
:           ODNR Office – Cadiz, OH
When:            June 2-4, 2020
Contacts:     
Russ Byers – Phone (740) 942-9150/Email: russell.byers@dnr.state.oh.us

SIC/IECC Mine Rescue Skills Competition
Where
:           Southeastern Illinois College - Harrisburg, IL
When:                        June 9-10, 2020
Contacts:     
Ricky Sauls– Phone (618) 252-5400, ext. 2248/Email: ricky.sauls@sic.edu
Kimberly Oliver – Phone (618) 252-5400, ext. 2360/Email: oliverk@iecc.edu

Kentucky River Mine Rescue
Where
:           Hazard High School - Hazard, KY
When:            June 16-18, 2020
Contacts:     
Jordan Boggess – Phone (859) 533-4558/Email: jordan.riddle@hazard.kyschools.us

Rocky Mountain Mine Rescue Association Colorado Contest
Where
:           Delta High School – Delta, CO
When:            July 13-16, 2020
Contacts:     
Mark Beauchamp – Phone (970) 367-6407/Email: mbeauchamp@peabodyenergy.com
Denny Erickson – Phone (435) 630-3476/Email: derickson@broncoutah.com                       

Harlan County Safety Day Mine Rescue
Where
:           Cumberland Campus, SKCTC – Cumberland, KY
When:            July 21-23, 2020
Contacts:     
Suzanne Williams or Tracy Bailey – Phone (606) 589-5812/Email: tricitychamber@windstream.net

Post 5 Mine Rescue Contest
Where
:           Morgantown, WV
When:            July 28-30, 2020
Contacts:     
Josh Brady – Phone (304) 293-9810/Email: Joshua.brady@mail.wvu.edu

Virginia Mining Institute Safety Day Mine Rescue (2 day), Bench, Preshift, First Aid Competition
Where
:           Blacksburg Park and Recreational Community Center - Blacksburg, VA
When:            August 4-6, 2020
Contacts:     
Diane Crouse – Phone (276) 988-4537/Email: dlcrouse1@verizon.net
Don Riffe – Phone (276) 970-3292/Email: don.riffe@dmme.virginia.gov

Kentucky State Contest – Kentucky Mining Institute (KMI)
Where
:           Kentucky Expo Center – Louisville, KY
When:            August 18-21, 2020
Contacts:     
Geaunita Caylor – Phone (859) 257-2820/Email: g.caylor@uky.edu

Illinois Mine Rescue Contest
Where
:           Pavilion of Marion, IL
When:            September 2, 2020
Contacts:     
Bill Patterson – Phone (618) 439-9111 ext. 235/Email: bill.patterson@illinois.gov  
Jacob Gyore – Phone (618) 439-9111 ext. 237/Email: Jacob.gyore@illlinois.gov

Southern West Virginia Mine Rescue, First Aid, Bench and Preshift
Where
:           National Mine Academy – Beaver, WV
When:                        August 24-27, 2020
Contacts:     
Danny Quesenberry – Phone (276) 596-0914/Email: dannyquesenberry50@gmail.com

MCC Mine Rescue Regional Skills Contest
Where
:           Madisonville Community College – Madisonville, KY
When:            September 30 - October 1, 2020
Contacts:      Danny Knott – Phone (270) 871-0672/Email: dknott0001@kctcs.edu

SIC/IECC National Mine Rescue Skills Competition
Where
:           Southeastern Illinois College - Harrisburg, IL
When:                        October 20-21, 2020
Contacts:     
Ricky Sauls– Phone (618) 252-5400, ext. 2248/Email: ricky.sauls@sic.edu
Kimberly Oliver – Phone (618) 252-5400, ext. 2360/Email: oliverk@iecc.edu