Spring Thaw Training Workshops

Bulldozer

Statistics show that mining accidents tend to increase during April and May when many intermittently operated mining operations begin producing again, often with new employees who are unaware of the hazards of mining.

Each Spring, the metal and nonmetal mining industry hosts cooperative mine safety and health training workshops around the nation to increase awareness of mining hazards and improve mine safety and health. During these educational outreach events, safety professionals from mining companies, associations, and MSHA share information and experiences in dealing with a range of mining dangers.

These seminars are not MSHA-sponsored.

Spring Thaw 2019 Workshop Schedule

Dates District Field Office Location Place Contact
2/21/2019 Northeast Hebron, OH Columbus, OH Embassy Suites Columbus Airport Dawn Hoover
dawnh@oaima.org
(614) 428-7954
2/26/2019 Western San Bernardino, CA Ontario, CA Double Tree by Hilton Hotel Ontario Airport Courtney Orozco
corozco@calcima.org
(916) 554-1000
3/6/2019
3/7/2019
Southeast Bartown,FL Bartow, FL Clear Springs Advanced Tech Center, Polk Comm. College Grace Holden
grace.holden@mining.komatsu
(863)344-0616
3/12/2019
3/13/2019
Western Albany, OR Redmond, OR Eagle Crest Resort Sarah Warfield
sarah@ocapa.net
(503) 588-2430
3/14/2019 Rocky Mountain Topeka, KS Emporia, KS Flint Hills Technical College Jim Barta
jim.barta@hutchsalt.com
(620)474-2816
3/19/2019
3/20/2019
Rocky Mountain Rapid City, SD Bismark, ND Bismark Event Center Karen Selensky
karens@ndsc.org
(701)355-1370
3/20/2019 Western Sacramento, CA Sacramento, CA Double Tree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento Courtney Orozco
corozco@calcima.org
(916) 554-1000
3/20/2019
3/22/2019
Southeast Sanford, NC Cherokee, NC Harrah's Cherokee Community Resort William Gerringer
diane@ncaggregates.org
(919)280-4175
3/27/2019 Rocky Mountain Salt Lake City, UT Salt Lake City, UT Little America Hotel McKell Costley
slagc@agc-utah.org
(801)363-2753
3/27/2019 Northeast Portsmouth, NH Augusta, ME Augusta Civic Center Chip Laite
claite@sargent-corp.com
(207) 817-7575
4/10/2019
4/12/2019
Northeast Staunton, VA Norfolk, VA Norfolk Hilton Main Hotel Rob Lanham
Rob Lanham @vtca.org>
(804) 330-3312
4/11/2019 Rocky Mountain Green River, WY Sheridan, WY Holiday Inn Sheridan Rohy Keffer
rkeffer@sheridan.edu
(307)681-6344
4/17/2019 Rocky Mountain Denver, CO Lakewood, CO Denver Federal Center Building 25 Bill York-Feirn
bill.york-feirn@state.co.us
(303)866-3567 ext.8151
5/1/2019
5/2/2019
Southeast Macon,GA Macon, GA Anderson Conference Center Dallas Jackson
dallas@georgiamining.org
(478)757-1211
5/9/2019 South Central Dallas, TX Midlothian, TX Midlothian Conference Center Wendell Morrow

(817) 526-7774

5/10/2019 Rocky Mountain Mesa, AZ Scottsdale, AZ Embassy Suites Scottsdale Nicole Massarand
nicole@azrockproducts.org
(602)271-0346