Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government.

2024 Enforcement Mine Rescue Contest Information

Annual Surface Mining Emergency Response Training  Competition (National Prep and Basic Regional Competition Tracks)

Where: Florida Public Safety Institute, 75 College Drive, Havana, Florida 32333   
When: March 4 – March 7, 2024

Contacts:        
Karen Miller, Phone: 850-201-7689, E-Mail: Karen.Miller@tcc.fl.edu
Kim Allen, Phone: 850-591-9168; E-Mail: ALLENK@tcc.fl.edu

Registration: Competition – Florida Mine Safety (flminesafety.com)


Southern Regional Mine Rescue Competition

Where:            Sevierville Convention Center, Sevierville, Tennessee
Where:            March 05 – 07, 2024

Contact:         
Brian Millington – tnminerescue@gmail.com - 865-804-1700

Registration: TNMRA 2024 Contest Registration Form


Southern Regional Mine Rescue Contest

Where: New Iberia, Louisiana    
When: April 29 - May 2, 2024

Contacts
Scott Fountain (337) 924-3379 / email: fountains@compassminerals.com 
Landon Olivier (337) 867-2145 / email: lolivier@mortonsalt.com


KMI - Kentucky Mining Institute Mine Rescue Contest   

Where:   Central Bank Center - Lexington, KY   
When:    May 06 - 09, 2024

Contacts:        
Brad Matheny -     rbm@csecorporation.com - 270-836-4225
Sammy Linville –   sammylinville@yahoo.com - 859-468-2914 (vendors)


Northern Mine Rescue Association Competition

Where:           Ohio Department of Natural Resources Lab, Cadiz, OH
When:            May 21 – May 23, 2024

Contacts:     
Adam Rossbach – Adam_Rossbach@cargill.com
Jereme_Stowell – Jereme_Stowell@cargill.com
Trey Gilliam – tgilliam@detroisalt.com

Registration: Northern Mine Rescue Association 2024 Contest Registration Form
Flyer: Northern Mine Resue Association Competition


Western Kentucky Safety Days

Where:           MCC/KCA Complex - Madisonville, KY
When:            May 22 - 23, 2024

Contacts:     
Kim Humphrey – kim.humphrey@arlp.com, 270-389-6792
Kevin Vaughn – kevinvaughn38@yahoo.com, 270-836-3636


Surface Mine First Responder Competition

Where: Alabama Fire College,  Tuscaloosa, AL 
When:   June 10 – 12, 2024

Contact:          
Rachael Jones - rachael@alabamamining.org


Southwestern Regional Mine Rescue Contest

Where: Carlsbad, New Mexico    
When: June 10 – 13, 2024

Contacts: 
Michael Runner (575) 706-2629/email: michael.runner@intrepidpotash.com
Matt Ridgway (575) 361-5029/email: Mathew.Ridgway@wipp.ws


National Mine Rescue Association Virginia Post 7 Safety Days Training Even

What: Overmountain Mine Rescue Meet
Coal and/or Metal Non-Metal
Mine Rescue, Bench, Pre-shift and First Aid

Where:  Southwest Virginia Higher Ed Canter in (Abingdon, VA)
1 Partnership Circle
Abingdon, VA  24210

When:  June 25-27, 2024

Contacts:  
Sidney Crabtree: (276) or 979-6339 or  email: sidney.crabtree@energy.virginia.gov
Gwendolyn Jessee:  (276) 321-6613 or email: gpjessee@comcast.net
                       
Or write to: 3405 Mountain Empire Road, Big Stone Gap, VA  24219


Alabama UG Mine Rescue Contest

Where: Bevill State Community College, Sumiton,  Alabama 
When:  July 30 – August 01, 2024

Contact:          
Rachael Jones -  rachael@alabamamining.org


National Mine Rescue, First Aid, Bench, Technician Team, and Pre-Shift Competition

Where:  Lexington Kentucky, Central Bank Center

When:    August 12-15, 2024

Contacts:
Ray Cartwright      cartwright.ray@dol.gov             Tel: 270-245-3729
Brian Thompson    thompson.brian@dol.gov          Tel: 205-290-7294
Kenny Murray        kenny.murray@arlp.com           Tel: 859-475-3445
Brian Millington     brian.millington@nystar.com    Tel: 865-242-0015 
Sammy Linville      sammylinville@yahoo.com       Tel: 859-468-2914 (Vendors)

Registration:
Erica Warren         warren.erica@dol.gov               Tel: 606-595-6571
Lewis McCoy         lsm@csecorporation.com         Tel. 412-418-0612 (fees only)


Missouri Regional Mine Rescue Contest

Where: Experimental Mine - Rolla, MO   
When:  September 23 – 26, 2024

Contacts:       
DeWayne Phelps (320) 979-4701 / Email: dewayne@phelpssafety.com   
Jesse Gregg – (573) 702-9584 / Email: jtgegg@mlc.com