State Grant Participants

Listed are the states participating in the MSHA grants program with links to each state program Summary. Also program officials and contact persons are listed with phone numbers and e-mail addresses.

  • Ms. Karen L. Brandt
    Director
    with Maryland Center for Environmental Training, CSM
    PO Box 910, 8730 Mitchell Road
    La Plata, MD 20646
    Telephone: (301) 934-7504 
    Email: KBrandt@mcet.org

  • Mr. Michael Flanagan, Manager
    Department of Labor Standards
    Safety and Health Programs
    Telephone: (617) 626-6958
    Mobile: (617) 455-1446
    Web: www.mass.gov/dols 
    Additional Contact: Merrill MacInnis
    Email: Merrill.Macinnis@Mass.gov

  • Matt Portfleet
    Program Director
    Department of Mining Engineering - Mine Safety
    Michigan Technological University
    Room 620, DOW Building
    1400 Townsend Drive Houghton, MI 49931-1295
    Telephone: (906) 231-7127
    Email: mgportfl@mtu.edu

    Additional Contacts: Dave Carlson(for scheduling classes), Jake Drenth, Ron Gradowski
    Emails: dcarlson@mtu.edu, jdrenth53@gmail.com, rfski2@yahoo.com
    https://www.msha.gov/michigan

  • LeAnn Snidarich
    MSHA Program Director
    Minnesota State Colleges & Universities
    30 East 7th Street,
    St. Paul, MN 55101 
    Telephone: 651-201-1464
    Email: LeAnn.Snidarich@minnstate.edu
    Website: minnstate.edu

     

    Additional Contacts:

    Ashley Jaycox
    Northland Community & Technical College 
    1101 Highway One East
    Thief River Falls, MN 56701
    Email: Ashley.Jaycox@northlandcollege.edu
    Telephone: 218-683-8642
    Fax: 218-683-8989
    Cell: 218-242-0114

    Robert Weston, CSP, CMSP
    South Central College
    Center for Business & Industry
    1920 Lee Blvd.
    North Mankato, MN 56003
    Telephone: 507-389-7320
    Cell: 507-327-9093
    Email: Robert.Weston@southcentral.edu  
    Terry Weston
    Email: Terry.Weston@southcentral.edu 
    Additional Contact: Terry Meschke 
    Email: Terry.Meschke@southcentral.edu 

    Gwen Sampson 
    Northeast Higher Education District
    Advanced Minnesota
    1515 East 25th Street
    Hibbing, MN 55746
    Telephone: 218-262-7270
    Email: gwen.sampson@advancedmn.org
    Colleen Gerzin
    Telephone: 218-749-7716
    Email: colleen.gerzin@advancedmn.org

  • Mr. James Matheny
    Director
    Mining and Reclamation Division
    Office of Geology
    Department of Environmental Quality 
    700 N. State Street
    P.O. Box 2279
    Jackson, MS 39225-2279
    Telephone: (601) 961-5527
    Email: jmatheny@mdeq.ms.gov

    Additional Contact:
    Karen Stephens
    Telephone:  (601) 961-5679
    kstephens@mdeq.ms.gov

  • Mr. Thomas French
    Division Deputy Director/Program Manager
    Division of Labor Standards, Mine and Cave Safety
    Department of Labor and Industrial Relations
    3315 W. Truman Blvd., Suite 205
    Jefferson City, MO 65102-0449
    Telephone: (573) 751-1422
    Email:  Thomas.french@labor.mo.gov

     

  • Mr. Bryan Page
    Safety and Health Bureau 
    Employment Relations Division
    Montana Department of Labor and Industry
    1805 Prospect, PO Box 8011 
    Helena, MT 59604-1728
    Office Telephone: (406) 444-6401
    Email: bpage@mt.gov

  • Mr. Akhtar Zaman
    Director, Minerals Department
    Navajo Nation
    P.O. Box 1910
    Window Rock and Morgan Blvd
    Window Rock, AZ 86515
    Telephone: (928) 871-6587
    Email: akhtarz@yahoo.com or dasram01@hotmail.com

    Additional Contact: Richard Carlton
    Email: richardcarlton@frontier.com

  • Mr. Mick Anderson
    Director
    Nebraska Safety Center, West Center Bldg., 227E
    University of Nebraska at Kearney
    905 W. 25th Street
    Kearney, NE 68849-4550
    Telephone: (308) 440-9393
    Email: andersonmd@unk.edu

    Additional Contact: Marshal Barth
    Telephone: (308) 865-8755
    Email: barthmj@unk.edu

    Additional Contact: Darla Morris
    Telephone: (308) 865-8267
    Email: morrsid@unk.edu
    Website: www.unk.edu/msha

  • Mr. Jeff Bixler
    Chief Administrative Officer
    Mine Safety & Training Section
    Division of Industrial Relations
    Department of Business and Industry
    400 West King Street, Suite 210
    Carson City, NV 89703
    Telephone: (775) 684-7085
    Email: jbixler@business.nv.gov

Pages