Office of Assessments

The Office of Assessments assesses and collects civil monetary penalties for violations of the Mine Act and of mine safety and health standards. This includes determining the civil penalty amounts, collecting and accounting for all delinquent penalties, and accounting for all penalty cases in litigation before the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission and the Federal courts.

The Office of Assessments also administers MSHA’s Special Investigations Program, which includes investigation of discrimination complaints filed under Section 105(c) of the Mine Act by miners, representatives of miners, or applicants for employment, in addition to investigation of knowing or willful violations under Section 110 of the Mine Act. The Office also manages MSHA’ s enhanced enforcement strategies including the Pattern of Violations (POV) Program, which identifies mines exhibiting a potential POV for enhanced enforcement, use of injunctive authority, and impact inspections. Finally, The Office of Assessments administers MSHA’s accountability program, which ensures enforcement policies and procedures are performed effectively and appropriately.

The Office of Assessments is headquartered in Arlington, Virginia, and has a field office in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania as well as two duty stations located in Madisonville, KY and Lakewood, CO.

Key Contacts

Contact Email Phone
Thomas Charboneau
Director
Charboneau.Thomas@dol.gov 202-693-9812
Kelvin Blue
Deputy Director
Blue.Kelvin@dol.gov 202-693-9514
Melanie Garris
Chief, Civil Penalty Compliance Office
Garris.Melanie@dol.gov 202-693-9715
Carolyn Settles
Management Officer
Settles.Carolyn@dol.gov 202-693-9550
Carolyn James
Chief, Technical
Compliance and
Investigations Office
James.Carolyn@dol.gov 202-693-9564
Vacant
Chief, Special Assessments
  202-693-9710
Ted Smith
Chief, Office of Accountability
Madisonville, KY
Smith.Ted@dol.gov 270-821-4180 ext. 1277
Karen Curham
Chief, Assessment Center
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Curham.Karen@dol.gov 570-831-7570