English | Spanish

Office of Assessments

The Office of Assessments, assesses and collects civil monetary penalties for violations of the Mine Act and of mine safety and health standards. This includes determining the civil penalty amounts, collecting and accounting for all delinquent penalties, and accounting for all penalty cases in litigation before the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission and the Federal courts.

Office of Assessments also administers MSHA’s Special Investigations Program, which includes investigation of discrimination complaints filed under Section 105(c) of the Mine Act by miners, representatives of miners, or applicants for employment, in addition to investigation of knowing or willful violations under Section 110 of the Mine Act. The Office also manages MSHA’ s enhanced enforcement strategies including the Pattern of Violations (POV) Program, which identifies mines exhibiting a potential POV for enhanced enforcement, use of injunctive authority, and impact inspections. Finally, Office of Assessments administers MSHA’s accountability program, which ensures enforcement policies and procedures are performed effectively and appropriately.

Office of Assessments is headquartered in Arlington, Virginia, and has a field office in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania as well as two duty stations located in Madisonville, KY and Lakewood, CO.

Key Contacts

Contact Email Phone
Thomas Charboneau
Director
Charboneau.Thomas@dol.gov (202) 693-9700
Alfred Clayborne
Deputy Director
Clayborne.Alfred@dol.gov (202) 693-9700
Kelvin Blue
Deputy Director
Blue.Kelvin@dol.gov (202) 693-9700
Melanie Garris
Chief, Civil Penalty Compliance Office
Garris.Melanie@dol.gov (202) 693-9700
Carolyn Settles
Management Officer
Settles.Carolyn@dol.gov (202) 693-9700
Vacant
Chief, Technical
Compliance and
Investigations Office
  (202) 693-9700
Margaret Bishop
Chief, Special Assessments
Bishop.Margaret@dol.gov (202) 693-9700
Ted Smith
Chief, Office of Accountability
Madisonville, KY
Smith.Ted@dol.gov 270-821-4180, ext. 1237
Karen Curham
Chief, Assessment Center
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Curham.Karen@dol.gov 570-831-7570
Submit Website Feedback