Mine Safety and Health Enforcement

MSHA works to prevent fatalities, illness, and injury from mining and secure safe and healthful workplaces for America’s miners. Mine Safety and Health Enforcement is responsible for performing the Agency’s enforcement activities including:

  • Conducting inspections, including mandatory quarterly and semiannual inspections of mines and facilities.
  • Issuing citations and orders for any observed violations.
  • Issuing a withdrawal order, removing equipment from service, and/or withdrawing miners in cases of imminent danger.
  • Conducting health sampling of respirable dust and noise exposure at mines, as well as monitoring toxic materials and harmful physical agents.
  • Investigating fatal and serious nonfatal accidents.
  • Investigating complaints of hazardous conditions reported by miners.
  • Investigating criminal violations.
  • Examining complaints of discrimination reported by miners.
  • Conducting safety and health conferences with mine operators on violations.
  • Approving required roof control, ventilation, emergency response, and training plans.
  • Reviewing mine operators’ mining plans and education and training programs for miners
  • Directing various mine safety and health assistance programs.
  • Training and certifying instructors.
  • Developing improved safety and health standards.

 

Key Contacts
Contact Email Phone
Timothy Watkins
Administrator 
Watkins.Timothy@dol.gov 202-693-9529
Emily Hargrove
Associate Administrator  
Hargrove.Emily.K@dol.gov 202-693-9435
Samuel Pierce 
Regional Administrator East
Pierce.Samuel@dol.gov 205-290-7294
David Weaver
Regional Administrator Central 
Weaver.David@dol.gov

214-767-8401

Brian Goepfert
Regional Administrator West 
Goepfert.Brian@dol.gov 303-231-5815
Marcus Smith
Accident Investigations Division
Smith.Marcus@dol.gov 202-693-9547
Stephen Gigliotti
Chief of Safety
Gigliotti.Stephen@dol.gov 202-693-9479
Greg Meikle
Chief of Health
Meikle.Gregory@dol.gov 202-693-9523
Monique Spruill
Chief of Health
Spruill.Monique@dol.gov 202-693-9632
Nancy Wilson
Management Office
Wilson.Nancy@dol.gov 202-693-9607

Map of Enforcement Regions and Offices

Regions

 

Resources