Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government.

Mine Safety and Health Enforcement

MSHA works to prevent fatalities, illness, and injury from mining and secure safe and healthful workplaces for America’s miners. Mine Safety and Health Enforcement is responsible for performing the Agency’s enforcement activities including:

  • Conducting inspections, including mandatory quarterlyand semiannual inspections ofmines and facilities.
  • Issuing citations and orders for any observed violations.
  • Issuing a withdrawal order, removing equipment from service, and/or withdrawing miners in cases of imminent danger.
  • Conducting health sampling of respirable dust and noise exposure at mines, as well as monitoring toxic materials and harmful physical agents.
  • Investigating fatal and serious nonfatal accidents.
  • Investigating complaints of hazardous conditions reported by miners.
  • Investigating criminal violations.
  • Examining complaints of discrimination reported by miners.
  • Conducting safety and health conferences with mine operators on violations.
  • Approving required roof control, ventilation, emergency response, and training plans.
  • Reviewing mine operators’ mining plans and education and training programs for miners
  • Directing various mine safety and health assistance programs.
  • Training and certifying instructors.
  • Developing improved safety and health standards.


Key Contacts
Contact Email Phone
Brian Goepfert
Administrator 202-693-9600
Timothy Watkins
Deputy Administrator 202-693-9600
Dustan Crelly
Acting Deputy Administrator 303-231-5675
Brian Thompson
Special Assistant 205-986-5330
Mohamed Aboelmagd
Special Assistant 202-693-9706
Marcus Smith
Accident Investigations Division 202-693-9547
Rodney Adamson
Acting Chief of Safety 202-693-9549
Greg Meikle
Chief of Health 202-693-9523
Gail Stewart
Management Officer 202-693-9317


East Region
East Region comprises of the districts listed below.

Central Region
Central Region comprises of the districts listed below.

West Region
West Region comprises of the districts listed below.