Metal and Nonmetal Mine Safety and Health

Metal and Nonmetal Mine Safety and Health enforces the Mine Act at all metal and nonmetal mining operations in the United States. This includes conducting inspections and investigations at mine sites to ensure compliance with health and safety standards required by the Mine Act. When inspectors and investigators observe violations of health or safety standards, they issue citations and orders to mine operators that require the operators to correct the problems.

Other important activities carried out as required by the Mine Act include:

  • Investigating mine accidents
  • Examining complaints of discrimination reported by miners
  • Investigating complaints of hazardous conditions reported by miners and criminal violations
  • Developing improved safety and health standards
  • Reviewing mine operators' mining plans and education and training programs for miners

Metal and Nonmetal Mine Safety and Health consists of a small headquarters office in Arlington, Virginia, as well as 6 district offices and 52 field offices and field duty stations located throughout the United States and Puerto Rico. Metal and nonmetal mines in the United States produce about 80 different minerals and commodities, and are separated into four broad categories: metal, nonmetal, stone, and sand & gravel.

Key Contacts
Contact Email Phone
Tim Watkins
Administrator for Enforcement
Watkins.Timothy@dol.gov (202) 693-9529
Brian Goepfert
Deputy Administrator
Goepfert.Brian@dol.gov (202) 693-9640
Emily Hargrove
Special Assistant
Hargrove.Emilly@dol.gov (202) 693-9635
Lawrence Trainor
Accident Investigations Manager
Trainor.Lawrence@dol.gov (202) 693-9644
Vacant
Chief, Safety Division
   
Monique Spruill
Chief, Health Division
Spruill.Monique@dol.gov (202) 693-9464
Nancy Wilson
Management Officer
Wilson.Nancy@dol.gov (202) 693-9607

Western District - Vacaville, CARocky Mountain District - Denver, CONorth Central District - Duluth, MNNortheastern District - Warrendale, PA Southeastern District - Birmingham, ALSouth Central District  - Dallas, TX

United States of America Map

District and Field Offices